Board of directors

Biographies of the members of the Cochlear board of directors.

Non-executive Director Alison Deans

Ms Alison Deans


Appointed to the Board 1 January 2015 and appointed as Chair effective 21 August 2021: Chair of the Nomination Committee.

Background: Extensive experience leading technology-enabled businesses across e-commerce, media and financial services. Former Chief Executive Officer of netus, Hoyts Cinemas, ecorp and eBay Australia and New Zealand.

Other boards: Director, Ramsay Health Care Limited and Deputy Group Pty Ltd. Member of Investment Committee, CSIRO Innovation fund (Main Sequence Ventures) and Member of AICD Corporate Governance Committee. Director of SCEGGS Darlinghurst Limited and The Observership Program.

Former directorships: Westpac Banking Corporation, Insurance Australia Group Limited and Social Ventures Australia.

Qualifications: BA, MBA, GAICD

Dig Howitt Chief Executive Officer

Mr Dig Howitt

CEO & President and Managing Director

Appointed to the Board 14 November 2017 and as CEO & President 3 January 2018: Member of the Medical Science and Technology & Innovation Committees.

Background: Joined Cochlear in 2000 and has a wealth of experience across the Company in roles including Chief Operating Officer, President, Asia Pacific and SVP, Manufacturing and Logistics. Prior to joining Cochlear, worked for Boston Consulting Group and held a General Management role at Boral. Dig is a member of the Champions of Change Coalition, STEM group. He was appointed as President of Cochlear on 31 July 2017 and became CEO & President on 3 January 2018.

Qualifications:BE (Hons), MBA

Non-executive Director Yasmin Allen

Ms Yasmin Allen

Non-executive Director

Appointed to the Board 2 August 2010: Chair of the Audit & Risk Committee. Member of the People & Culture, Nomination and Technology & Innovation Committees.

Background: Extensive career in investment banking with senior roles in strategic analysis and corporate advice. Former Vice President of Deutsche Bank AG, Director of ANZ Investment Bank and Associate Director of HSBC London.

Other boards: Chair of Australian Federal Government Steering Group for Digital Skills Organisation and Tic:Toc Home Loans. Director, Santos Limited, ASX Limited and National Portrait Gallery. Acting President Australian Government Takeovers Panel.

Former directorships: Insurance Australia Group Limited. National director of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. Member of The Salvation Army Advisory Board. Chair of Macquarie Specialised Asset Management and

Qualifications: BCom, FAICD

Non-executive Director Glen Boreham, AM

Mr Glen Boreham, AM

Non-executive Director

Appointed to the Board 1 January 2015: Chair of the People & Culture Committee. Member of the Audit & Risk, Nomination and Technology & Innovation Committees.

Background: Led organisations in information technology, new media and the creative industries through periods of rapid change and innovation. Former Managing Director of IBM Australia and New Zealand.

Other boards: Director, Southern Cross Media Group and Link Group. Strategic Advisor, IXUP.

Former directorships: Data#3. Chairman of Screen Australia, Advance (Global Australian Network), Business School and Industry Advisory Board for the University of Technology, Sydney and Advisory Board IXUP.

Qualifications: BEc, FAICD

Non-executive Director Michael Daniell

Sir Michael Daniell, KNZM

Non-executive Director

Appointed to the Board 1 January 2020: Chair of the Technology & Innovation Committee. Member of the Audit & Risk, Nomination and Medical Science Committees.

Background: Over 40 years’ experience in the medical device industry with extensive executive leadership experience. Former Managing Director and CEO of Fisher & Paykel Healthcare Corporation Limited responsible for the global business and operations including the design, manufacture and marketing of innovative products and systems for use in respiratory care, acute care and the treatment of obstructive sleep apnea.

In June 2021 Sir Daniell was made a Knight Companion of the New Zealand Order of Merit for his services to business, healthcare and governance.

Other boards: Director, Fisher & Paykel Healthcare Corporation Ltd. Council member, The University of Auckland. Director, Tait International Limited. Advisory Board Chair, Te Titoki Mataora (NZ). Director, Medical Research Commercialisation Fund.

Qualifications: BE (Hons), Electrical, CMInstD (NZ)

Non-executive Director Michael del Prado

Mr Michael del Prado

Non-executive Director

Appointed to the Board 1 January 2022: Member of the Medical Science, Nomination and Technology & Innovation Committees.

Background: Over 34 years’ global experience in the medical device and pharmaceutical industries with senior executive leadership roles in Johnson & Johnson medical device businesses in the US, Asia-Pac and EMEA. Former Company Group Chairman of Ethicon, the world’s largest and most comprehensive surgical company.

Other boards: Ambu A/S

Former directorships: Co-lead Director, Verb Surgical. Advisory Board, Singapore Management University Lee Kong Chian School of Business.

Qualifications: BSc Industrial Engineering, MBA, MA

Non-executive Director Andrew Denver

Mr Andrew Denver

Non-executive Director

Appointed to the Board 1 February 2007: Member of the Audit & Risk, Medical Science, Technology & Innovation and Nomination Committees.

Background: Extensive experience in the life sciences industry. Former Managing Director of Memtec Limited and President Asia for Pall Corporation.

Other boards: Chairman, SpeeDx and Director, Vaxxas and QBiotics.

Former directorships: Executive Chairman, Universal Biosensors.

Qualifications: BSc (Hons), MBA, FAICD

Non-executive Director Christine McLoughlin

Ms Christine McLoughlin, AM

Non-executive Director

Appointed to the Board 1 November 2020: Member of the Audit & Risk, Nomination, People & Culture and Technology & Innovation Committees.

Background: Ms McLoughlin has served on the boards of a number of ASX50 companies and is a highly respected company director with domestic and international experience. She has had wide ranging experience covering health, insurance, resources, infrastructure and financial services.

Christine is co-founder and a Chairman of the Minerva Network, a not-for-profit organisation focused on supporting the professional careers of elite women athletes and connecting communities through sports participation.

In June 2021, Ms McLoughlin was awarded a Member of the Order of Australia in the Queen's Birthday Honours for her services to business, the not-for-profit sector and women.

Other boards: Chairman of Suncorp Group Limited. Chancellor of the University of Wollongong. Chairman, Destination NSW.

Former directorships: NIB Holding, the McGrath Foundation and Venues NSW.

Qualifications: BA, LLB (Hons), FAICD

Non-executive Director Prof. Bruce Robinson, AM

Prof. Bruce Robinson, AC

Non-executive Director

Appointed to the Board 13 December 2016: Chair of the Medical Science Committee. Member of the Nomination, People & Culture and Technology & Innovation Committees.

Background: Over 20 years' leadership experience as an academic physician/scientist across research, healthcare and medicine, and tertiary education. Former Dean, The University of Sydney's Sydney Medical School, Head of Medicine at Sydney's Royal North Shore Hospital and Head of the Cancer Genetics Laboratory at the Kolling Institute for Medical Research.

Other boards: Director, MaynePharma, QBiotics and Ecofibre. Director, Woolcock Institute of Medical Research. Senior Advisor to McKinsey & Company and Advisor to MinterEllison.

Former directorships: Chairman, National Health and Medical Research Council. Chairman, Medical Benefits Schedule Review Taskforce. Director, Lorica Health Pty Limited, Firefly and Digital Health Agency CRC.

Qualifications: MD, MSc, FRACP, FAAHMS, FAICD