Graeme Clark Scholarship for Australia and New Zealand - 2017 APPLICATIONS NOW CLOSED

Graeme Clark

The Graeme Clark Scholarship is a unique award established to help recipients of Cochlear™ hearing solutions further themselves by undertaking university studies. 

The Scholarship consists of financial assistance towards a degree at an accredited university and is paid in annual instalments on the successful completion of each year of study for a period of up to three years. It is available to cochlear implant and bone conduction implant recipients who have been accepted into a university course or who are current university students. This includes mature age students. 

The Scholarship is awarded on the basis of academic achievement and a demonstrated commitment to the Cochlear ideals of leadership and humanity. 

The Australia and New Zealand Cochlear Scholarship honours Professor Graeme Clark the inventor and pioneer of the modern day cochlear implant. 

How to Apply 

Graeme Clark Scholarship for Australia and New Zealand - APPLICATIONS NOW CLOSED.

The Graeme Clark Scholarship for Australia and New Zealand is open to Cochlear customers who are residents of Australia and New Zealand.

To be considered for a Graeme Clark Scholarship, please submit your application via post to: 

Cochlear - Australia and New Zealand 
The Graeme Clark Scholarship 
PO Box 1444 
Macquarie Centre NSW 2113 

Your application should include the following information: 

  1. Application Form
  2. A short personal statement describing your academic aspirations and other interests. This should describe the area of proposed study, your goals post-graduation and the reasons why you wish to be a Graeme Clark Scholar. This statement must not exceed 1000 words and should be written in a simple and direct manner. You must sign the statement in ink. 
  3. Final school academic transcript (attach copy).
  4. Prior university academic transcripts (if available).
  5. Your university admissions notice (if available).
  6. A succinct list of the principle activities and awards in school (including prizes, scholarships, offices held, athletic record and extracurricular activities) with dates. This summary must not exceed one A4 page in length, and should be set in a typeface no smaller than 10 points. 
  7. One photocopy of your birth certificate, passport or other proof of age and citizenship.
  8. Proof of residency e.g. driver’s license.
  9. The names, addresses and telephone details of three referees (at least two of these must be people from whom you have received educational instruction). 

Selecting the Winner 

A panel of judges review all submitted scholarship applications. The winner will be notified in December.

Previous Scholarship winners:

2017 winner: Hugh Entwistle, Aspirational Mathematician awarded the 2017 Cochlear Graeme Clark Scholarship.
2016 winner: Brooke Taylor Michalanney, midwifery student awarded 2016 Cochlear™ Graeme Clark Scholarship.
2016 runner up: Lachlan Bartlett, Law and Criminal Justice student dreaming of one day becoming a judge.
2015 winner: Susan Lindrud, aspiring doctor awarded 2015 Cochlear™ Graeme Clark Scholarship Award recipient focused on “giving back”.
2014 winner: Isabelle Stanley, Aspiring fashion entrepreneur awarded 2014 Cochlear Graeme Clark Scholarship.
2013 winner: Tim Palmer, Inspirational sportsman awarded 2013 Cochlear Graeme Clark Scholarship.
2012 winner: Jessica Moody, Melbourne Social Sciences student named 2012 Cochlear™ Graeme Clark Scholarship recipient.
2011 winner: Calvin Shaw, A University of NSW law student and cochlear implant recipient. 
2010 winner: Eva Bergler, An Auckland University of Technology Bachelor of Health Sciences student, St John volunteer and aspiring paramedic 
2009 winner: Sophie Li, a Melbourne University student, Australia 
2008 winner: Sam Taylor, medical student at University of Otago, New Zealand 
2007 winner: Kate Moss, student RMIT University in Melbourne 
2006 winner: Anthony Cignarella, Occupational Therapy student at the University of Sydney 
2005 winner: Aaron Payne, medical science student at the University of Sydney 
2004 winner: Thomas Pell, student at Queensland University of Technology 
2003 winner: Bill Raymond, 19-year old aspiring audiologist 
2002 winner: Holly McDonell, Australasia’s first scholarship winner. 


For further information, please email us.